22-24 October 2019
Auditorium della Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio di Firenze (Italy)
UTC timezone

After the success of the first Pietro Baracchi conference held in 2016 in Perth, a second edition is organized in Florence to bring together Italian and Australian astronomy and technology. 

This series of conferences is named in honour of Pietro Paolo Giovanni Ernesto Baracchi (1851 — 1926), an Italian who played a central role in Australian astronomy in the late 1800s and early 1900s. 


Italy and Australia are deeply involved in many of the most advanced next-generation astronomical facilities.  Australia and Italy contribute to these facilities at fundamental technological and scientific levels and all of these facilities will play a role in the new era of multi-wavelength and multi-messenger astrophysics and cosmology.  With the detection of gravitational waves and the identification of their electro-magnetic counterparts, and the rise of synergies between astroparticle physics and electromagnetic astronomy, our communities face exciting advances, but also technological challenges and challenges in coordination and collaboration.  This meeting, the second Pietro Baracchi conference, will bring together Italian and Australian astronomers and engineers working across projects and facilities of common interest, with a particular focus on multi-messenger, multi-wavelength astrophysics and cosmology.  The goal of the Pietro Baracchi meetings is to encourage closer collaborations between Italy and Australia in astrophysics and technology.  

Scientific Organizing Committee

Pietro Bolli co-chair (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)
Steven Tingay co-chair (Curtin University)
Marica Branchesi (Gran Sasso Science Institute)
Tamara Davis (University of Queensland)
Adriano Fontana (Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma, INAF)
Elaine Sadler (CSIRO and University of Sydney)

Local Organizing Committee

Pietro Bolli (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)
Patrizia Braschi (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)
Paola Di Ninni (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)
Renzo Nesti (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)
Dario Panella (Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory, INAF)

The conference does not have any registration fee.

Sponsoring Institutions