9–13 Sept 2024
Turin, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Scientific Programme

The scientific programme of the ESPM-17 will be organised around the following topics:

  1. Solar interior, sub-surface flows and long-term variability
  2. Fundamental mechanisms of solar plasmas: magnetic reconnection, waves, radiation and particle acceleration
  3. Energy and mass transfer throughout the solar atmosphere and structures within
  4. Multi-scale energy release, flares and coronal mass ejections
  5. Space weather and the solar-heliospheric connections
  6. Diagnostic tools and numerical methods in solar physics

The meeting will start on the morning of September 9th, and will finish around noon on September 13th. The afternoon of September 11th will be dedicated to social excursions, and the conference dinner will be held on September 12th. A welcome reception will be offered on Sunday 8th late afternoon.

List of Invited Speakers

  • Daniel Müller, European Space Agency, ESTEC, Noordwijk (NL)
  • Alberto Sainz Dalda, Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory, Palo Alto CA (USA)
  • Vasilis Archontis (TBC), School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of St Andrews (UK)
  • Hannah Schunker, School of Information and Physical Sciences, University of Newcastle (AU)
  • Petr Heinzel, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (CZ)
  • Clara Froment, Laboratoire de Physique et de Chimie de l’Environnement et de l’Espace, Orléans (FR)
  • Marco Stangalini, Italian Space Agency (IT)
  • Rony Keppens, Centre for Mathematical Plasma Astrophysics at the Mathematics Department, KU Leuven (BE)
  • Sophie Musset, ESA/ESTEC, Noordwijk, The Netherlands
  • Susanna Parenti, Université Paris-Saclay, CNRS, Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale, (FR)
  • Rui Pinto, Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, IRAP, Toulouse (FR)
  • Jaroslav Dudík, Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences (CZ)
  • Lyndsay Fletcher, SUPA School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Glasgow (UK)
  • Marilena Mierla, Solar-Terrestrial Centre of Excellence – SIDC, Royal Observatory of Belgium (BE)
  • Stephanie Yardley, Department of Meteorology, University of Reading (UK)
  • Emilia Kilpua, Department of Physics, University of Helsinki (FI)
  • Judith de Patoul, Solar-Terrestrial Centre of Excellence - SIDC, Royal Observatory of Belgium (BE)
  • Quentin Noraz, Rosseland Centre for Solar Physics, RoCS, Oslo (NO)
  • Michaela Brchnelova, Plasma-astrophysics Unit, KU Leuven (BE)