Sep 2 – 6, 2024
Università di Milano "La Statale"
Europe/Rome timezone

In celebration of Beppo Occhialini and Nanni Bignami

The 8th Heidelberg International Symposium on High-Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy (γ-2024), will take place on September 2nd to 6th 2024, in Milano, Italy.

The Gamma-Ray Symposium has been held since 1994 in Heidelberg, Germany, in 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016 and in 2022 in Barcelona, Spain. We are now glad to announce that the Symposium will take place in 2024 and, for the first time, it will be held in Milano, hosted by the Università di Milano "La Statale" (UniMi). It will closely follow the guidelines and structure of the previous Symposia, covering all major observational and theoretical aspects of the field with an emphasis on the high- (GeV), very high- (TeV), and ultra (PeV) high-energy intervals of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Scientific topics will range from the origin of galactic and extragalactic cosmic rays to the physics and astrophysics of compact objects and their relativistic outflows (Pulsars, Microquasars, Blazars, GRBs), PWNe, SNRs, Star Forming Regions, Giant molecular clouds and Interstellar Medium, as well as extragalactic non-thermal objects like Starburst Galaxies, Radio Galaxies and Galaxy Clusters. Cosmological issues related to Dark Matter, Intergalactic radiation and magnetic fields, and topics relevant to fundamental physics will also be addressed.

On behalf of SOC and LOC,
G. Pareschi, F. Aharonian, and S. Vercellone


Conference Poster

Scientific Organizing Committee Local Organizing Committee
Felix Aharonian (DIAS / MPIK, Co-Chair) Giacomo Bonnoli (INAF/OAB)
Elena Amato (INAF-OAAr) Silvia Crestan (INAF/IASFMI)
Xavier Barcons (ESO) Petra Dell'Arme (INAF/OAB)
Josefa Becerra Gonzáles (IAC) Giuliana Fiorentino (INAF/OAR)
Marco Bersanelli (Univ. Milano) Leonardo Gariboldi (Univ. Milano)
Markus Boettcher (North-West Univ.) Andrea Giuliani (INAF/IASFMI)
Marica Branchesi (GSSI & Univ. Urbino) Stefania Magnifico (SAIT)
Massimo Cappi (INAF/OAS) Frank Rieger (IPP & MPIK)
Zhen Cao (IHEP & Tianfu Cosmic Ray Research Center) Michela Rigoselli (INAF/IASMI)
Patrizia Caraveo (INAF/IASFMI) Patrizia Romano (INAF/OAB)
Catherine Cesarsky (AIM, DAp, Université Paris Saclay) Stefano Vercellone (INAF/OAB, Chair)
Monica Colpi (Univ. Milano-Bicocca) Gabriele Weese (MPIK)
Paolo Coppi (Yale University) Anna Wolter (INAF/OAB)
Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (Univ. Sao Paulo)  
Roberto Della Ceca (INAF/OAB)  
Stefano Gabici (Université de Paris, CNRS)  
Francis Halzen (University of Wisconsin-Madison)  
Jim Hinton (MPIK)  
Werner Hofmann (MPIK)  
Michael Kramer (MPIfR)  
Martin Lemoine (APC, CNRS)  
Reshmi Mukherjee (Barnard College, Columbia University)  
Josep M. Paredes (Universitat de Barcelona / ICCUB)  
Giovanni Pareschi (INAF/OAB, Co-Chair)  
Gavin Rowell (The University of Adelaide)  
Subir Sarkar (University of Oxford)  
Joe Silk (IAP, JHU)  
Christian Stegmann (DESY)  
Marco Tavani (INAF/IAPS)  
Stefano Vercellone (INAF/OAB)  
Ruizhi Yang (University of Science and Technology of China)  
Roberta Zanin (CTA Observatory GmbH)  



Università di Milano "La Statale"
Aula Magna
Via Festa del Perdono 7, Milano
Registration for this event is currently open.