Sep 19 – 23, 2022
INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Capodimonte
Europe/Rome timezone



The meeting will focus on the Gaia crucial contribution to stellar evolution and our capability of modeling different stellar evolutionary phases,  through the interpretation of excellent quality observational HR diagrams of star clusters and stellar populations from the Solar neighborhood to the Milky Way halo and its neighbors,  where distances, stellar absolute luminosities, and colours are available thanks to the improved photometry and astrometry published with Gaia EDR3.

The meeting will specifically address the impact on stellar models of new data products released with Gaia DR3 on 13 June 2022, such as binaries and non single-stars, time series data and characterization for more than 11 millions variable stars/sources of 25 different types, astrophysical parameters (abundances, temperatures and gravities) for about 500 million objects, mean radial velocities for about 33 million stars and RVS spectra for about 1-million sources.  

The meeting is part of the project “Revealing the Milky Way with Gaia” (MW-Gaia) funded by a COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) Union action.    

We will have 3.5 full days for science. After an initial overview by members of the Gaia Data Processing and Analysis Consortium on main data products published with Gaia DR3 and how to use them, the meeting will attempt to discuss the constraints that Gaia data can set on: 

  1. stellar evolution models; 
  2. selected phases of stellar evolution; 
  3. stellar pulsation models; 
  4. asteroseismology; 
  5. binary star evolution; 

On the last day, synergies between Gaia and on-going/future spectroscopic surveys will also be addressed.


R. Andrae, M. Barstow, M. Bellazzini, M. Bergemann, A. Brown, T. Cantat-Gaudin, S. Cassisi, S. Charpinet, G. De Somma, L. Eyer, N. Gentile Fusillo, O. Gonzalez,  J. Isern, R. Izzard, G. Kordopatis, G. Kovacs, J. Maiz Apellaniz, P. Marigo,  G. Meynet, J. Montalban, S. Randich, A. Recio-Blanco, V. Ripepi, S. Van Eck


G. Clementini (Chair), M. Marconi (Co-Chair), C.Charbonnel, S. Degl'Innocenti, D. Hatzidimitriou, L. A. Girardi, M. Limongi, M. Manteiga, A. Miglio, I. Negueruela, S. Simón-Díaz, I. Stateva, L. Szabados, R. Szabó, P. E. Tremblay


I. Musella (chair), R. Aiello, F. Bencivenga, R. Cozzolino, G. De Somma, A. Di Dato, M. T. Fulco, M. Gatto