

## Closing remarks

# 16<sup>th</sup> European Solar Physics Meeting

September 6-10, 2021



## **European Solar Physics Meeting -16**

In 2018, ESPD solicited proposals by European groups to host the 16<sup>th</sup> European Solar Physics Meeting (ESPM-16) in 2020 and in the August-September timeframe three proposals were received. Turin was selected by the Board to host ESPM-16.

Due to pandemic, ESPM16 was postponed till 2021. Unfortunately, face-to-face meeting appeared to be impossible to be organized in Turin and online meeting in September 2021 was agreed by the Board.

ESPD Board took over the meeting organization in January 2021.



## **European Solar Physics Meeting -16**

Solar physics community has shown strong interest in ESPM-16

Although we had to limit submissions (one abstract per person) we received:

638 participants are registered for ESPM16 (typically ESPM attracts ~250 participants).

434 abstracts submitted (some were cancelled later)
328 requests for a plenary contributed talk (20 oral plenary slots)

ESPM-16 SOC introduced parallel sessions for the majority of talks.

Zoom sessions were well attended from 20 to ~100 participants per room.



### **ESPM-16** participant survey:

Overall, how would you rate ESPM-16? (based on 90 answers so far...):

**A. Excellent**: 35 (38.89%)

**B. Very Good**: 37 (41.11%)

**C. Good**: 14 (15.56%)

**D.** Fair: 4 (4.44%)

**E. Poor**: 0 (0.00%)

Thanks for all the comments! Some comments to be analyzed:

"The 'poster talks' should have been much shorter (e.g. 3 mins)..."

"... fewer and longer talks might be better."



#### Researchers and administrative staff in INAF - Turin Observatory:

Alessandro Bemporad (Chair)

Silvano Fineschi (Co-chair)

Lucia Abbo

Carlo Benna

Tullia Carriero

Alberto Cora

Annalisa Deliperi

Federica Frassati

Silvio Giordano

Salvatore Mancuso

Andrea Mignone

Roberto Susino

Luca Zangrilli



#### Researchers and administrative staff in INAF - Turin Observatory:

Alessandro Bemporad (Chair)

Silvano Fineschi (Co-chair)

Lucia Abbo

Carlo Benna

Tullia Carriero

Alberto Cora

Annalisa Deliperi

Federica Frassati

Silvio Giordano

Salvatore Mancuso

Andrea Mignone

Roberto Susino

Luca Zangrilli



#### **ESPM16 Poster Judges:**

Laurene Jove Sanja Danilovic Lakshmi Pradeep Chitta **Andrew Hillier** Larisa Kashapova **Ioannis Kontogiannis** Manuela Temmer **Manuel Collados Brigitte Schmieder** Marco Stangalini



#### **Organising Committee:**

Istvan Ballai (UK, University of Sheffield)

Alessandro Bemporad (IT, INAF-Turin Astronomical Observatory)

Shaun Bloomfield (UK, Northumbria University)

Ilaria Ermolli (IT, INAF-Rome Astronomical Observatory)

Elena Khomenko (ES, Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias)

Emilia Kilpua (FI, University of Helsinki)

Eduard Kontar (UK, University of Glasgow, ESPD president)

Jasmina Magdalenic (BE, Royal Observatory of Belgium)

Ramon Oliver (ES, University of the Balearic Islands)

Etienne Pariat (FR, Observatoire de Paris)

Tiago Pereira (NO, University of Oslo)

Georgia Tsiropoula (GR, National Observatory of Athens)

Francesca Zuccarello (IT, University of Catania)

*And co-opted members:* 

Mats Carlsson (NO, University of Oslo, co-opted EAST)

Manolis Georgoulis (GR, Academy of Athens, co-opted former ESPD president)

Stefaan Poedts (BE, KU Leuven, co-opted SWWT)

#### "Zoom support":

Tiago Pereira (NO, University of Oslo)
Souvik Bose (NO, University of Oslo)
Kilian Krikova (NO, University of Oslo)
Thore Espedal Moe (NO, University of Oslo)
Nancy Narang (NO, University of Oslo)
Mats Ola Sand (NO, University of Oslo)

#### Also thanks to:

- Invited Speakers,
- Plenary session chairs
- All participants for sharing their exciting research

#### Sponsors









#### Institutional partners

- EAST
- CESRA
- ESA Space Weather Working Team (SWWT)
- · Joint Organization for Solar Observations (JOSO)