

European Solar Physics Prizes

https://www.eps.org/members/group.aspx?id=85203

Solar Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS) awards three prizes:



•Early Career Researcher Prize (annual prize),

•Senior Prize (triennial prize)

ROPE

SOISTHY

In addition, ESPM Student Poster is awarded at European Solar Physics Meeting. (*The call to participate in ESPM16 poster competition was sent before the meeting.*)

ESPD Prizes: https://www.eps.org/members/group_content_view.asp?group=85203&id=641304



ESPD PhD Thesis Prize

•2018: Dr. Peter Levens (PhD carried at University of Glasgow, UK):

Prize awarded for significant contributions to the study of tornado-like prominences using detailed ultraviolet spectroscopic, multi wavelength imaging and visible spectropolarimetric observational analysis - helping to unveil the nature of these structures.

•2019: Dr. Norbert Magyar (PhD carried at Centre for mathematical Plasma Astrophysics, KU Leuven, Belgium):

Prize awarded for significant contributions, using 3D magneto-hydrodynamics numerical experiments, to the study of waves and their relation to turbulence in the solar corona.

•2020: Dr. Stefan Hofmeister (PhD carried at Institute of Physics, University of Graz, Austria):

Prize awarded for outstanding observational analysis of solar coronal holes, their magnetic fine structure and the associated high-speed solar wind streams.

•2021: Dr. Camilla Scolini (PhD carried at Centre for mathematical Plasma Astrophysics, KU Leuven, Belgium):

Prize awarded for significant contributions on numerical modelling and observational analyses of the propagation of coronal mass ejections.

UROPEN

7 SJISAHO

1510

ESPD Early Career Researcher Prize

UROPE

7.0 5015440

1510

•2018: Dr. Tanausú del Pino Alemán (working at Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain, at the time of award):

Prize awarded for ground breaking contributions in the field of theoretical solar spectropolarimetry, developing novel methods and very efficient radiative transfer computer programs for understanding scattering line polarization using realistic atomic and atmospheric models.

•2019: Dr. Lakshmi Pradeep Chitta (working at Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Germany, at the time of award):

Prize awarded for ground breaking observational analysis highlighting the crucial role of small-scale photospheric magnetic fields in the structure and dynamics of the solar corona.

•2020: Dr. Victor Réville (working at Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, France, at the time of award):

Prize awarded for fundamental contributions to creating self-consistent multidimensional numerical models of coronal heating and solar wind acceleration via wave turbulence.

•2021: Dr. Daniel Nóbrega-Siverio (working at Rosseland Centre for Solar Physics, Norway, at the time of award):

Prize awarded for important contributions to the understanding of solar chromospheric phenomena and related processes, combining theory, observations and numerical experimentation.

ESPD Senior Prize

UROPE

SOISTHO

2020: Prof. Dr. Eric Priest (working at University of St Andrews, UK, at the time of the award) Prize awarded for long-standing leadership via mentoring, supervising and field-defining textbooks and for fundamental contributions in key topics of solar magnetohydrodynamics, particularly magnetic reconnection in the solar atmosphere and solar coronal heating.



ESPM16 student poster prizes are co-sponsored by Solar Physics Journal (part of Springer Nature). The winners will obtain **book vouchers** of the value 200, 150, 100 Euros for 1st/2nd/3rd place prize.

And the poster prize winner are ...

🙆 Springer

springer.con



Book Voucher € 200

16th European Solar Physics Meeting (ESPM-16)

Solar Physics

6 – 10 September 2021

How to order your book(s):

- 1. Select your book(s) at springer.com; write down title and ISBN number
- Send an email indicating your book selection and your address details to: frank.schulz@springer.com
- 3. We will then send you the selected book(s) / e-books to the indicated address/email account.



The winners of ESPM16 student poster competition:

UROPE

SUISTHO

1st: Zihao Yang, "Magnetoseismology for the solar corona: from ~10 Gauss to coronal magnetograms"
2nd: Florian Koller, "First results on production of magnetosheath jets during to SIRs and CMEs"
3rd: Seray Sahin, "Prevalence of thermal non-equilibrium over an active region"